Happy New Year!


IT'S JUST MY OPINION  - The jig is up! And with all the changes going on with our bodies (and minds with COVID-19), we have to work harder at getting and staying in shape - and not because we want our 20 something bodies back, but mostly because we want to be at our healthiest, prevent or recover from sprains and pains, and to keep up with our more active friends.  But if you hate to workout with every fiber of your being, don't fret! You're not alone. I repeat. You. Are. Not. Alone. There are more of 'us' who'd rather be doing something else than keeping up with a regular exercise routine. So here's an idea for 2021...why not try incorporating some exercises into your day to day? Believe it or not, you can get a good workout (sweat-free too) with many of the things you do at home. Ever try squatting while doing dishes, stretching your core while vacuuming, lunging or doing calf raises as your brush your teeth or even while you dry your hair? You can empl…

The Holidays Don't Need to Be Perfect, Especially This Year!


Tis the season to be jolly, fa la la la la, la la la la… IT'S JUST MY OPINION  - Tis the season for holiday classics to be playing and glistening decorations to be displayed everywhere you go over the next few weeks. Get ready for it! And if you’re really in the festive mood and full of holiday spirit, you might even be tempted to tune into Hallmark's channel -- sprinkled with joy and sweetness, these holiday movies project picture perfect romances, family gatherings and decorated Christmas trees with elegantly wrapped gifts underneath. Oh, and don’t forget the gorgeous golden Butterball centrepiece. There’s nothing like it, right? Wrong. Let’s get real, shall we? Holiday images like these ones that are spread across TV, magazines, and social media are supposed to be perfect. They have to be. Marketers and advertisers are getting big bucks to make them. But if you’re one to get stressed by it all, don’t.  Relax . You don’t need any of those things to have the “perfect” holiday…

Author Interview: Grace Sammon


Meet Grace Sammon, the debut author of The Eves - the perfect book club book! Tell us a little bit about yourself and your published book (s). I have two different types of bios that describe me. One focuses on my accomplishments as an educational consultant, author, speaker and entrepreneur. I’m proud of this bio – it captures my work in 32 states, and on tribal lands, in some of the countries toughest and most under-served high schools. It also focuses on my creating several small companies, both for and not-for-profit. This was important work that endures today. However, in my OTHER bio, I describe myself as having grown up on Long Island, New York; spending decades in the Washington, DC area raising my two amazing (now grown) kids; and, now living with my fabulous husband and a small herd of imaginary llamas on the Suncoast of Florida. It’s probably that bio that your listeners will resonate with, as well as with my debut novel, The Eves. My first three books were all focu…

Author Interview: Robin Delnoce


Get to know Robin Delnoce and her new book Bunco: a Comedy About The Drama of Friendship! Recommended for fans of Bridesmaids, Desperate Housewives, and Bad Moms. Released September 2020!  Tell us a little bit about yourself and your published book (s). My name is Robin Delnoce, and I turned 50 in June. That milestone combined with a global pandemic and the death of a high school friend, forced me to look at my potential regrets if I suddenly left this planet. Having this story never see the light of day was the only one I could think of. Tell us about the genre you like to write, and how is it similar / different from other women fiction genres? I enjoy writing about women’s friendships. So often in movies or television shows, women are portrayed as competitive, backstabbing, and indifferent to other women. I did not have a close family so my friendships were always where I went for support. I like writing women characters who are strong, smart, and funny who love each other like fa…

Author Interview: Lily MacKenzie


Get inspired with Lily MacKenzie as she shares with us her journey and writing process for her three published books featuring older women! Tell us a little bit about yourself and your published book (s) I don’t have hayseed clinging to my trousers, but growing up on a Canadian farm gave me a unique foundation as a writer. I sprouted under cumulous clouds that bloomed everywhere in Alberta’s big sky. They were my first creative writing instructors, scudding across the heavenly blue, constantly changing shape: one minute an elephant, bruised and brooding. The next morphing into a rabbit or a castle. These billowing masses gave me a unique view of life on earth. As a girl, I prowled the land, talking to chickens and pigs and lambs, creating scenarios for them. I also tried to make perfume from the wild Alberta roses and captured caterpillars, watching with wonder when they transformed themselves into butterflies. Everything around me seemed infused by nature spirits waiting to be releas…

Author Interview: Betsy Price


Here's what Betsy Price had to say about her debut novel, Overgrown , released in April 2020. It's now the #1 bestseller in the Amazon UK charts under Menopause! Tell us a little bit about yourself and your published book. In April 2020, one month before my fiftieth birthday, I published my debut novel ‘ Overgrown ’ which tells the story of Eliza Hamilton, a forty-five-year-old woman on the brink of menopause. Unable to fully process her onslaught of ailments, Eliza goes into denial as she tries, unsuccessfully, to juggle work, motherhood and demanding family members with paranoia, mood swings and hot, sleepless nights. Tell us about the genre you like to write, and how is it similar / different from other women fiction genres? I like to write funny, uplifting and insightful fiction about real life trials and tribulations. However, if it’s a fluffy rom-com you’re after, you might be disappointed; there are some sensitive issues covered in Overgrown that won’t be everyone…

Author Interview: Lainey Cameron


Here's what Lainey Cameron had to say about her debut novel, The Exit Strategy , releasing on July 8th, 2020 and to writers over 40! Tell us a little bit about yourself and your published book (s). Hi, I’m Lainey Cameron and I’m thrilled that my debut novel, The Exit Strategy , releases on July 8th. It's best described as a mix of Silicon Valley, sexism, and the power of female friendship.  The story revolves around the story of two career women, placed in an impossible situation. Silicon Valley investor Ryn Brennan is on the verge of achieving everything she wanted. She’s proven herself in the male-dominated venture capital world, has the support of her successful husband, and is about to close the deal of her career. Everything is going exactly as planned, until she meets Carly, her husband’s mistress, across the negotiating table. Carly, meanwhile, is a single mom who clawed her way back from being a teenage runaway to become an accomplished scientist, and …