Author Interview: Sarahlyn Bruck


Get to know Sarahlyn Bruck and her second novel  Daytime Drama   -  Released March 2 2021!  Tell us a little bit about yourself and your published book (s). Sure! I write novels and teach English full-time at a local community college. My husband, daughter, and I live in Philadelphia. My first book, Designer You, came out in 2018. And my second, Daytime Drama, releases on March 2, 2021. Tell us about the genre you like to write, and how is it similar / different from other women fiction genres? Both my books are firmly set in the contemporary women’s fiction genre. They are each centered on a woman’s emotional journey, which is what makes women’s fiction unique and special. Within the genre, my interests as an author tend to gravitate toward topics like changing family dynamics and the ways women can reinvent themselves when life takes an unexpected sharp turn. What are some of the biggest challenges authors of older protagonists face today? I think there’s a misconception that charac…

Author Interview: Cari Scribner


Funny, sexy, and a bit steamy, A Girl Like You (Feb. 9th 2021) is both author Cari Scribner's debut as well as the debut publication for new press Circuit Breaker Books . A Girl Like You chronicles the dating misadventures of 50-something, recently divorced, Jessica. Tell us a little bit about yourself and your published book (s). I was born, raised and went to college in upstate NY. I have a bachelor’s in journalism with a writing minor. I’ve always known I was a creative writer. When I was 5 years old, I composed commercials for Clairol Herbal Essences shampoo, which was a big thing back then. I wrote a YA novel 10 years ago that was shopped around by an agent but never found a home – it wasn’t about the supernatural. AGLY is my debut women’s fiction novel. It chronicles a year in the life of newly-divorced Jessica Gabriel, 53, and her kids Madison Gabriel, 25, and Ian Gabriel, 21, all of whom are single and dating – or attempting to date. I wrote the novel to encompass equal …

Author Interview: G.P. Gottlieb


Meet G.P. Gottlieb, author of Smothered: A Whipped and Sipped Mystery (release date Feb 16). This will be her second novel published by D.X. Varos Ltd! Tell us a little bit about yourself and your published book (s).  I earned degrees in music, and worked as a musician, and educator, and an administrator while raising three (now grown) children. I always wrote, and have taken a course here and there, but considered myself more of a dabbler until 2014. That’s when I was diagnosed with an aggressive breast cancer, and all my plans came crashing down. I vowed to myself that if and when I got past it, I was going to spend the rest of my days doing what I love best. I wasn’t ever going to let a day slip away that wasn’t filled with music, writing, reading, talking and being with people I love, and maybe a little knitting or puzzling. I wanted every day to be a golden day (instead of just my birthday!). I set to writing my first mystery and rewrote it dozens of times until my editor gave me…

Happy New Year!


IT'S JUST MY OPINION  - The jig is up! And with all the changes going on with our bodies (and minds with COVID-19), we have to work harder at getting and staying in shape - and not because we want our 20 something bodies back, but mostly because we want to be at our healthiest, prevent or recover from sprains and pains, and to keep up with our more active friends.  But if you hate to workout with every fiber of your being, don't fret! You're not alone. I repeat. You. Are. Not. Alone. There are more of 'us' who'd rather be doing something else than keeping up with a regular exercise routine. So here's an idea for 2021...why not try incorporating some exercises into your day to day? Believe it or not, you can get a good workout (sweat-free too) with many of the things you do at home. Ever try squatting while doing dishes, stretching your core while vacuuming, lunging or doing calf raises as your brush your teeth or even while you dry your hair? You can empl…

The Holidays Don't Need to Be Perfect, Especially This Year!


Tis the season to be jolly, fa la la la la, la la la la… IT'S JUST MY OPINION  - Tis the season for holiday classics to be playing and glistening decorations to be displayed everywhere you go over the next few weeks. Get ready for it! And if you’re really in the festive mood and full of holiday spirit, you might even be tempted to tune into Hallmark's channel -- sprinkled with joy and sweetness, these holiday movies project picture perfect romances, family gatherings and decorated Christmas trees with elegantly wrapped gifts underneath. Oh, and don’t forget the gorgeous golden Butterball centrepiece. There’s nothing like it, right? Wrong. Let’s get real, shall we? Holiday images like these ones that are spread across TV, magazines, and social media are supposed to be perfect. They have to be. Marketers and advertisers are getting big bucks to make them. But if you’re one to get stressed by it all, don’t.  Relax . You don’t need any of those things to have the “perfect” holiday…

Author Interview: Grace Sammon


Meet Grace Sammon, the debut author of The Eves - the perfect book club book! Tell us a little bit about yourself and your published book (s). I have two different types of bios that describe me. One focuses on my accomplishments as an educational consultant, author, speaker and entrepreneur. I’m proud of this bio – it captures my work in 32 states, and on tribal lands, in some of the countries toughest and most under-served high schools. It also focuses on my creating several small companies, both for and not-for-profit. This was important work that endures today. However, in my OTHER bio, I describe myself as having grown up on Long Island, New York; spending decades in the Washington, DC area raising my two amazing (now grown) kids; and, now living with my fabulous husband and a small herd of imaginary llamas on the Suncoast of Florida. It’s probably that bio that your listeners will resonate with, as well as with my debut novel, The Eves. My first three books were all focu…

Author Interview: Robin Delnoce


Get to know Robin Delnoce and her new book Bunco: a Comedy About The Drama of Friendship! Recommended for fans of Bridesmaids, Desperate Housewives, and Bad Moms. Released September 2020!  Tell us a little bit about yourself and your published book (s). My name is Robin Delnoce, and I turned 50 in June. That milestone combined with a global pandemic and the death of a high school friend, forced me to look at my potential regrets if I suddenly left this planet. Having this story never see the light of day was the only one I could think of. Tell us about the genre you like to write, and how is it similar / different from other women fiction genres? I enjoy writing about women’s friendships. So often in movies or television shows, women are portrayed as competitive, backstabbing, and indifferent to other women. I did not have a close family so my friendships were always where I went for support. I like writing women characters who are strong, smart, and funny who love each other like fa…